“Your city/state (local spot)?” My answer, Friendship Fountain!

Friendship Fountain originally opened a few months before I was born (1965, yes I’m that old) for a cost of $1.7 million.  At the time, it was considered the world’s largest and tallest fountain making it a tourist favorite.  It has been a fixture in downtown Jacksonville ever since.  It sits proudly on the bank of the St. Johns River overlooking the Main Street Bridge, the Jacksonville Landing and all the majestic buildings of downtown.  When I was a kid, this fountain always reminded me of the spinner thing on the game of Life.

It recently underwent a $3.1 million dollar restoration, reopening in June, 2011.    This was the first time I’ve seen it since it opened and I will say that I was pleased with the results.  Enjoy!  (((CLICK IMAGE TO ENLARGE)))

One Response to “Your city/state (local spot)?” My answer, Friendship Fountain!

  1. LOVE the colors! I think you did a great job capturing the water motion contrasted against the buildings in the background. The palm trees have me ready for vacation 🙂

Leave a Reply

